small banner
home page about us page activities page publications page Wakefield's history contacts page links page

coming events

 

June

Saturday 2 June - Hats and Huts by Sue McGeever.Wakefield and District Family History Society

Tuesday 5 June - A free talk from Dr Patrick Eyres on Humphry Repton's work as a landscape gardener in Yorkshire. 11am - 12pm. West Yorkshire History Centre. More information: Humphrey Repton

Wednesday 6 June - Annual Walk: 'Horbury through the Ginnels'. Horbury and District Historical Society

Friday 8 June - Aerial photographs, Local and Family History Network, Ossett and Horbury Group. Horbury Library 11 - 12.30. More information: News

Wednesday, 13 June - WHS excursion to Weavers' Triangle Burnley and Towneley Hall & Park. Members and their guests only. More information: Summer Excursions

Tuesday 19 June - Ackworth Old Scholars and their occupations in WW1, talk by Celia Wolfe. Castleford and District Historical Society. 7.30pm, United Reform Church Hall, Back Bank Street, Castleford, WF10 1AY

Saturday 23 June - Conference in memory of David Hey in Sheffield. More information: News

Monday 25 June  -  Old Occupations, Local and Family History Network,Wakefield Group. More information: News

Wednesday 27 June - WHS Make-your-own-way visit to Tadcaster, Members and their guests only. More information: Summer Excursions

Wednesday 27 June Beehive Querns in West Yorkshire and Beyond talk by John Cruse, South Leeds Archaeology

Advance Notice

Saturday 7 July - AGM followed by Ideas for researching Non-Conformist ancestors, a talk by Jackie Depelle. Wakefield and District Family History Society